Designation of Excellence of CCCs

The DoE Standing committee of the EACS defines the criteria and oversees the process leading to the designation  "Comprehensive Cancer Center of Excellence"  to those comprehensive cancer centres that apply for the “Excellence” status and meet the required quality criteria.

The evaluation requires a written self-evaluation by the institution based on a protocol developed  and approved by the EurocanPlatform (FP7) / EACS and an on-site assessment by an international review panel. The first formal evaluations of comprehensive cancer centers took place in 2017. The designation procedure has been developed in a pilot phase during previous years in which the criteria for the “excellence” qualification were developed, tested, and further refined.

Chair: Anton Berns (NED)

Standing Committee members: Douglas Hanahan (SUI), Christof von Kalle (DEU), Pier Guiseppe Pelicci (ITA), Bruce Ponder (GBR), Josep Tabernero (ESP). 

European Academy of Cancer Sciences – Designation of Comprehensive Cancer Centres of Excellence.

Authors: Ringborg U, Celis J, Eggermont A, Berns A.

Eur J Cancer. 2018 Apr;93:138-139. doi: 10.1016/j.ejca.2018.01.003.

Work benefitting from the support of the Fondation ARC.


Sorry. You need to upgrade your browser

You are using Internet Explorer 8

This is considered an out of date browser. This website has been developed with modern browsers in mind to allow it to display at its best in a wide variety of viewing situations - including mobile viewing. But we haven't supported older browsers like IE8. Please upgrade to the latest version of Internet Explorer - or try Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome. Both are excellent browsers.

Thank you.